Medical Scientific Education



Prof. Dr. med. Sandra Ciesek
Center Speaker

director of the Institute of Medical Virology


Dr. Andrea Kinner
Center Coordinator



Students, Phd Candidates as well as Early Career Researchers from the Faculty of Medicine are welcome to join the Center Medical Scientific Education.

For further information on the center membership please contact


Current Board Members

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Eberhardt
  Institute of General Pharmacology and Toxicology; Faculty of Medicine
Prof. Dr. Johannes Frank
  Clinic for Trauma, Hand and Reconstructive Surgery; Faculty of Medicine
Prof. Dr. Gerd Geißlinger
  Director Institute Clinical Pharmacology; Faculty of Medicine
Prof. Dr. Frank Louwen
  Head Maternity Clinic and Prenatal Medicine; Faculty of Medicine
Prof. Dr. Jochen Roeper
  Director Institute of Physiology II; Faculty of Medicine
Prof. Dr. Stefan Zeuzem
  Director Medical Clinic I; Faculty of Medicine
Peter Hortz
  Faculty of Medicine

Interaction with other Institutes or Research Centers

  • Georg-Speyer-Haus, Institute for Tumor Biology and Experimental Therapy; Frankfurt
  • Max Planck Institute for Brain Research; Frankfurt
  • Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research; Bad Nauheim
  • Paul-Ehrlich-Institute; Langen

Graduate Programs

  • "Redox-Regulation: Generatorsystems and functional consequences (SFB 14)",
    DFG funded (Speaker: Prof. Dr. Brüne, Faculty 16)

  • „Endothelial Signalling and Vascular Repair (SFB 834)“,
    DFG funded (Speaker: Prof. Dr. Fleming; Faculty 16)

  • „Signalling by fatty acid derivatives and sphingolipids in health and disease (SFB 1039)“,
    DFG funded (Speaker: Prof. Dr. Pfeilschifter; Faculty 16)

  • „Molecular and Functional Characterization of Selective Autophagy (SFB1177)“,
    DFG funded (Speaker: Prof. Dr. Dikic; Faculty 16)

  • „AVE- Resolution of Inflammation (GRK2336)“,
    DFG funded (Speaker: Prof. Dr. Brüne; Faculty 16)

  • „Molecular Principles of RNA-based Regulation (SFB 902)“,
    DFG funded (Speaker: Prof. Dr. Schwalbe; Faculty 14)